Street Location’s

Right from the beginning I knew how I wanted the music video to look an had a ruff idea of the locations I wanted to film at. Because my video will be split up into two parts, the first part being quite relaxed. I wanted it to feel as if the viewer was with the band on a normal day chilling out together. With this in mind I set about finding suitable locations, Whilst I was researching into music videos in a previous post one video caught my eye.                 The Libertines – Time For Heroes shows the band in various locations mucking around about London. This is how I wanted my video to look and feel.

To achieve this I set about finding different locations where I could film the band walking around. Now like a lot of people I’m sure if you were going to make a music video in London they would go straight to the big sights like The London Eye or Tower Bridge like you see in so many chart music videos today, however I didn’t want to do that, yes I wanted to film in London but not near these over used sights. I wanted to go off the beaten track to the places people not know so well. With this said I made a list of the places I could go and do some location shots. The places I had in mind are listed below:

  • Brick Lane
  • Camden Lock / Market
  • Primrose Hill
  • Regent’s Park
  • London Tubes

Camden Shots:

I chose Camden as one of my locations because of It’s known arty punk rock feel, busy colourful markets, cafes / pubs and of course the canal. I think this will suit the video perfectly and will be able to get some really nice shots.

Primrose Hill Shorts:

From the top of Primrose Hill you can see all over London and it is an amazing view! I chose this as one of my locations because I thought it would look really nice on camera with the band in the foreground. At night it looks even better with a gentle glow coming from the city’s streets and the sky scrapers.

Regent’s Park Shorts:

Within Regent’s Park there is a really nice boating lake (see pictures below) I can imagine this to be a really beautiful and pleasant place to film and would suit the slowness of the beginning of the song perfectly.

Brick Lane Shorts:

Brick Lane is known for its many diverse cultures and its street art. It is very popular with graffiti artist’s which is evident on its street walls and has also attracted the likes of Banksy (First two pictures) Which is why I considered it as a location for my music video, the graffiti filled walls provide a arty back drop to the video and would give it a nice feel.

Leave a comment